God works in mysterious ways. This I have learned very well from my 20 years of life.

Two years ago I decided to be a writer. So I wrote and volunteered around the community. Nothing big came from either endeavor, but I learned a lot about myself and I know I did some quiet good.

One year ago I decided to try EMS. So I enrolled in a course and spent a vast amount of time and energy preparing myself for it.

EMS was a good choice, but not for the reasons I first thought. For if there is one certainty in EMS it is that you will see a lot. Not just in patients and how they came about their injuries, but also you see a lot of different aspects of health care. In the past five weeks I have seen various ERs (including the University of Louisville, where I watched a helicopter take off), rehab centers, doctor’s offices, nursing homes, psych wards, etc. I have seen blood, drunks, heat exhaustion, strokes, various behavioral disorders. Of all the things I have seen and tried, the area where I really excel seems to be with behavioral disorders, especially with older people.

An idea has hatched in this brain of mine of working with people with mental problems and not just in the back of an ambulance, ferrying them from hospital to extended care facilities.

“You can’t hit a moving target”, the saying goes, but what I know is that not everybody finds their calling on the first go-round and just because something doesn’t work out the way you thought it would doesn’t make it a mistake or the wrong thing.